Week 7 Adventures

Since the Georgian period is the one that I am most interested in, I have to do two different activities. Since I’m lazy, I’m just going to do two different activities in the same post.

For my first activity, I decided to compare two different outfits from the Georgian era. The dress on the left is a Georgian dress I found in the Victoria and Albert Museum. It still has a narrow (and slightly elongated) waist, indicating that it probably belongs to the earlier part of the period. If you were to only look at the bodice and skirt, it could easily belong to the reformation or tudor era. The full skirt emphasizes the wideness of the hips, rather than making the behind fuller and rounder. (A very elegant way of saying a big butt). The arms and shawl are what put this dress in the Georgian period. The sleeves that cut off above the elbows and then have ruffles down the back are a telltale sign of a colonial dress.

The dress on the right is a dramatically different Georgian dress found in The Museum of Fashion (that I forget the name of. My memory is worse than I thought it was). This type of dress is very elegant, and something that would be worn to a ball. The heart shaped bust is very different than the square bust that I assume (based on the shape of the dress) is under the shawl on the dress on the left. Also, these short, capped sleeves are very different that the flowing ruffles of the other dress. It makes me think of Jane Austen. There is still, however, the same attention to making the waist seem small, and the detailed embroidery are present on both dresses. (And both dresses probably required a corset).

 

For my second activity, I am comparing two period rooms. They are both designed to be entertaining room, where guests would come in and mingle. The one on the left is a Georgian room from the Victoria and Albert Museum, and the one on the right is a part of the Kew Palace. The first thing I noticed is that they both feature red. Red is a power color, so maybe they are designed to represent the power of those who owned them. That being said, the King George’s room is much less extravagant that the other one, which surprises me. You would think that the king would have the best of everything, and want to show off his wealth. Maybe the king wasn’t as concerned with flaunting his assets? Or perhaps it is less decorated because it is not his permanent home (I have no idea what the king’s other palace looked like. Maybe the room on the right was designed for guests who are very close to the family, while the one on the left held balls, or occasions where distant acquaintances might appear. The room on the right has a decorate ceiling with a gorgeous chandelier hanging down. The red and gold color scheme definitely scream “look at me!”. Also, the room on the left features very little furniture, suggesting that this room was designed for people to stand or dance in. In contrast, the room on the right has several couches, further implying that this room was for relaxed gatherings.

Leave a Reply

