Week 8 Adventures

For this week’s adventure, I decided to wander around Notting Hill and look at all the Victorian houses. I’m deriving for my activity, but I’m also including a lot of pictures! I wrote the following while just walking around the neighborhood.

 

“I would like to start this off by saying that I took the train to Notting Hill, and I have absolutely no idea where I am. I wanted to find a pocket of cute little Victorian houses with flowers hanging on the porches, but I am currently surrounded by a ton of people and stores. I am just going to turn right and see what happens.

Of course turning right would lead me uphill, that’s typical. I’m starting to see pockets of gardens, so this is a good sign. I’m going to keep heading this direction. I think it’s so funny that there are so many little secret gardens that only people with a key can get into. It makes me think of the Pleasure Gardens I learned about in the Museum of London. I wonder how far these gardens go back.

I just stumbled upon a cute little church in what is apparently St. John’s Gardens. There’s a sign that says this church was built in 1845 but is styled to look gothic. I definitely can see the gothic architecture; with the thin/curved windows, and tall steeples. I walked around the corner of the church, hoping to find a garden that I’m allowed into (I like gardens). Instead, I’ve ended up in the middle of a Victorian residential area. No complaints here.

While I was trying to decide which way I should go, I noticed a pastel blue house on my right. As I started walking that way, I noticed that all of the houses on that block were painted a pastel color. I absolutely love this. I wonder if the colorfulness is modern or if they were painted back in the 1800’s too? Regardless, I think they’re charming; and they all have little gardens in their backyard! Also, I apparently passed by the final home of a world renowned chess player. I think it’s so cute that London does that; creates a little memorial for people who were something important. As I kept walking a ran into a small stretch of houses that were painted, but they weren’t pastel. They were bright red and blue and yellow and green…. I wonder why this set of houses isn’t pastel? I wonder if they have a committee that sees over how each house is decorated/painted?

It’s starting to get dark, so I’m heading back now. I wish I’d come early enough in the day to go to the Portobello Road Market! Maybe I’ll come back again before we leave.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

